BBC drama Cranford leads the field with 3 nods

Coronation Street has been left off the Bafta TV awards nominations list.

It is the first time in 10 years that the ITV soap has not been in the running for the Best Continuing Drama gong.

Instead The Bill, Emmerdale, EastEnders and Holby City will battle it out for the coveted prize.

Corrie’s not the only show to be conspicuously absent. The X Factor will not be vying for the Entertainment Programme crown. Britain’s Got Talent will go head-to-head with Strictly Come Dancing, Harry Hill’s TV Burp and Have I Got News For You.

In the other categories, BBC drama Cranford is leading the field with 3 nods, including one for Drama Serial and 2 for Best Actress for stars Judie Dench and Eileen Atkins.

The British Academy Television Awards take place on 20 April. Graham Norton will host the star-studded ceremony at London’s Palladium centre.

The full list of nominations:

Andrew Garfield – Boy A
Tom Hardy – Stuart: A Life Backwards
Matthew Macfadyen – Secret Life
Antony Sher – Primo

Eileen Atkins – Cranford
Judi Dench – Cranford
Gina McKee – The Street
Kierston Wareing – It’s A Free World

Simon Amstell – Never Mind The Buzzcocks
Alan Carr & Justin Lee Collins – The Friday Night Project
Stephen Fry – QI
Harry Hill – Harry Hill’s TV Burp

Peter Capaldi – The Thick of It
James Corden – Gavin and Stacey
Stephen Merchant – Extras Christmas Special
David Mitchell – Peep Show

Boy A – John Crowley, Lynn Horsford, Mark O’Rowe
Coming Down The Mountain – Greg Brenman, Roanna Benn, Mark Haddon, Julie Anne Robinson
The Mark Of Cain – Tony Marchant, Nicola Shindler, Lynn Horsford, Marc Munden
The Trial of Tony Blair – Alistair Beaton, Simon Cellan-Jones, Hal Vogel, David Aukin

Life on Mars
The Street

Britz – Peter Kosminsky, David Aukin, Hal Vogel, Steve Clark-Hall
Cranford – Sue Birtwistle, Simon Curtis, Heidi Thomas
Five Days – Paul Rutman, Otto Bathurst, Simon Curtis, Gwyneth Hughes
Murphy’s Law – Greg Brenman, Stephen Smallwood, Russell Lewis, Colm McCarthy

The Bill – Johnathan Young, Tim Key, Maxwell Young, Robert Del Maestro
EastEnders – Production Team
Emmerdale – Keith Richardson, Kathleen Beedles, John Anderson, Tim Dynevor
Holby City – Production Team

Californication – Tom Kapinos, David Duchovny, Stephen Hopkins, Scott Winant
Family Guy – Seth MacFarlane, David A. Goodman, Chris Sheridan, Danny Smith
Heroes – Tim Kring, Joe Pokaski, Paul Edwards, Dennis Hammer
My Name Is Earl – Greg Garcia, Bobby Bowman, Henry Lange, Jr., Marc Buckland

Meet The Natives – Gavin Searle, Will Anderson, Andrew Palmer, Chris King
Paul Merton in China – Mark Chapman, Paul Sommers, Barbie MacLaurin, Paul Merton
Tribe – Bruce Parry, Steve Robinson, Sam Organ
The Tower: A Tale of Two Cities – Simon Ford, Rachel Innes-Lumsden, Anthony Wonke, Ines Cavill

Andrew Marr’s History of Modern Britain – Andrew Marr, Chris Granlund, Tom Giles, Clive Edwards
Earth: The Power of the Planet – Dr Iain Stewart, Jonathan Renouf, Phil Dolling
The Genius of Photography – Tim Kirby
The Relief of Belsen – Justin Hardy, Susan Horth, Peter Guinness

Beautiful Young Minds – Production Team
Lie of the Land – Molly Dineen, Justin Krish, Catherine Bailey, Natasha Wilkinson
Malcolm and Barbara: Love’s Farewell – Paul Watson, Kim Horton
Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives – Production Team

Heston Blumenthal: In Search of Perfection – Gary Hunter, Melanie Jappy, David Robertson, Jay Taylor
Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares – Production Team
The Secret Millionaire – Production Team
Top Gear – Production Team

China’s Stolen Children: A Dispatches Special – Jezza Neumann, Sky Zeh, Brian Woods, Kate Blewett
Dispatches: Fighting The Taliban – Sean Langan, Julia Barron, Denman Rooke
Honour Kills – Ben Rumney, Juliette Murray-Topham, Emma Willis, Adam Kemp
Panorama: Dog-Fighting Undercover – Mandy Mcauley, Sandy Smith, Andrew Bell, Jeremy Adams

BBC Ten O’Clock News: War in Afghanistan – Craig Oliver, Huw Edwards, Alastair Lelthead, Thea Fairley
Channel 4 News: Iraq-The Surge – Jim Gray, Jon Snow, Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Ed Fraser
ITV Evening News: Zimbabwe – The Tyranny and the Tragedy – Production Team
Sky News: Glasgow Airport Attack – Alison O’Reilly, Rob Kirk, Alf Bowles
Sky News/Sky News

Boat Race – John Watts, Tony Pastor, Paul McNamara
ITV F1: Canadian Grand Prix Live – Neil Duncanson, Gerard Lane, Kevin Chapman, Steve Aldous
Rugby World Cup 2007: England V France Semi-Final – David Moss, Simon Moore, Paul McNamara
Wimbledon: The Men’s Final – Paul Davies, Carl Hicks, Jonathan Bramley, Bethan Evans

Big Art Mob – Production Team
Doctor Who Comic Maker – Jo Pearce, Anwen Aspden
Spooks Interactive – Production Team
The X Factor – Robert Marsh, Oliver Davies, Sophie Davis, Richard Holloway

Britain’s Got Talent – Richard Holloway, Andrew Llinares, Ben Thursby, Georgie Hurford-Jones
Harry Hill’s TV Burp – Spencer Millman, Peter Orton, Harry Hill
Have I Got News For You – Jo Bunting, Nick Martin, Richard Wilson
Strictly Come Dancing – Martin Scott, Sam Donnelly, Clodagh O’Donoghue

The Armstrong & Miller Show – Alexander Armstrong, Ben Miller, Jeremy Dyson, Mario Stylianides
Fonejacker – Ed Tracy, Kayvan Novak, Helen Williams, Mario Stylianides
Russell Brand’s Ponderland – Production Team
Star Stories – Lee Hupfield, Elliot Hegarty, Kevin Bishop, Phil Clarke

Benidorm – Derren Litten, Kevin Allen, Geoffrey Perkins
The IT Crowd – Ash Atalla, Graham Linehan, Jamie Glazebrook, Barbara Wiltshire
Peep Show – Sam Bain, Jesse Armstrong, Robert Popper, Becky Martin
The Thick of It – Production Team

Sky+AUDIENCE AWARD for the Programme of the Year
The Apprentice
Andrew Marr’s History of Modern Britain
Britain’s Got Talent
Gavin & Stacey
Strictly Come Dancing

SEE PICS of all the stars arriving at the Bafta Awards>>

Sienna Miller had acceptance speech ready for Baftas>
Atonement wins Best Film at Baftas but star Keira Knightley misses out>>